IMG_0792 IMG_0793 IMG_0794 IMG_0780 IMG_0779

Since moving to Balmain I’ve been meaning to check out the farmer’s market at Orange Grove Primary in Lilyfield. I finally got the chance to head over there last Saturday and lets just say I’ll definitely be back! If only I hadn’t had to exercise some purchasing discretion due to the scale of my little Balmain Kitchen…it’s a super busy market so best to get in early, but definitely worth making the extra effort to get there. I came away with the sweetest of strawberries and tomatoes, some fresh herbs and a big and luscious bunch of silverbeet. Here’s my recipe for Spinach + Feta Pastries, which are great to make and freeze for last minute, low prep dinners. Using the quantities below I made 6 medium sized pastries.

1 bunch silverbeet

1/2 white onion, finely chopped

2 eggs

1/2 small block danish feta

1/2 small block australian feta

1 handful cheddar cheese

3 sheets puff pastry

salt + pepper

Cook the spinach in a large pot with about 2 cm of water in the bottom. Drain and leave to cool. It’s best to do this earlier in the day so the spinach isn’t too hot for you to handle when you’re making your pastries.

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees celsius. Defrost the pastry sheets for about 10 minutes (about the time it should take you to prepare the mixture for the pastries). Combine the spinach, onion, cheeses, 1 egg, salt and pepper. Slice the pastry squares diagonally down the middle, so you have two triangles per sheet. Place about a fistful of the mixture on one side of the triangle (leaving enough of a border to fold up your edges) and fold the other half of the triangle over the top. Fold up the edges any way you can get the triangles sealed. There’s no rules, the more rustic looking the better as far as I’m concerned!

Beat your extra egg in a bowl and use a pastry brush to glaze the triangles before popping them in the oven for 20 minutes. They’ll be fairly hot when you bring them out so I like to let them cool down for a couple of minutes. I had to cook mine two at a time in my tiny oven but it was worth it because my freezer’s now fully stocked (and I mean fully) with ready to heat packages of golden goodness!!

Bon appétit,

Trini 🙂

