IMG_1195

IMG_1196

Hiya! Only two more sleeps until the weekend is here, and as I’m running in the city to surf this weekend I figured I finally have a good excuse to carb load..Here’s another recipe that makes for a simple and satisfying mid-week meal..if you like zucchini that is (which I definitely do)! This one is also inexpensive which is great if you’re on budget, which I am..at least in theory anyway πŸ˜‰

Zucchini Ribbon Spaghetti w Lemon + Chilli

1 clove garlic

1 small fresh red chilli, finely chopped

2 tsp lemon rind (or more)

Big squeeze lemon juice

1 zucchini, sliced finely into ribbons

1 handful of basil leaves

250g spaghetti

Parmesan, grated, to serve

Serves 2

First up, cook your spaghetti. When it’s about 3-4 minutes away from being cooked, put your zucchini ribbons in the water with the pasta and then cook until the pasta is ready..I err on the side of not quite ready because you’re going to cook it a little more in the pan later (and I don’t like soggy pasta!!!).

Once you have drained your pasta and spaghetti, add a little olive oil to the empty saucepan and fry the garlic, chilli and lemon rind for about a minute or so, then return your pasta, zucchini and the basil to the pan and fry for about a minute or so. I like to add in a little cracked pepper at this point and a big squeeze of lemon juice. Then all you need to do is serve it up and add some grated parmesan and cracked pepper..and a little extra lemon juice if you like! It would also be nice to crumble a little feta over the top, but alas, I am all out! Anyway, still tasted great!

IMG_1199

By the way, tonight I’m listening to Haim’s EP Forever and doing some research for new recipes ahead of my first dinner guest next week (eek!)…and I love love love them! I’ve been a big fan of Falling and The Wire on JJJ, and I can’t wait for their debut album Days Are Gone to be released this September..Haim have a great sound, rock and pop mixed up in the best possible way with an edgy feel that is pretty different to a lot of stuff I’ve heard recently..although they do remind me of one of my old favourite bands Tiddas…now sadly disbanded 😦 Would have loved to have seen them live at Splendour..why, why, why did I not go??

Anyway..It’s Wednesday..stay strong! The weekend is nearly here πŸ™‚

Trini xo

