IMG_2264

One of the easiest meals I’ve cooked in a while, this baby octopus was bought pre-marinated at my local seafood store. I had intended to make a sicilian calamari salad I found on Gourmet Traveller , but as with many of my kitchen ambitions, I ended up cooking this octopus in the quickest and simplest way I could. Thankfully, the seafood vendor where I bought my octopus gave me some great advice on how to cook it, which worked so well that I thought I’d share it here with you. He told me that if I was going to cook it in a wok or frypan, I should cook it once over a high heat for 1-2 minutes, then turn the heat off and let the octopus sit in its juices for about five minutes, before draining and reheating the pan and cooking the octopus over a high heat again for 1-2 mins. This was a great tip, as it ensured that the octopus was fully cooked and tender, but with a crispy outer firmness that you couldn’t get without the high heat of a barbecue or commercial cooktop. All I had to do was add a little lemon juice and a side of salted tomatoes, and I was done. Well, almost..I couldn’t resist some crusty white bread with a little oil and vinegar to soak up all those juices.

If you’re lucky like me and can get fresh octopus marinated from your local seafood shop, then I highly recommend this method. On the other hand, the sicilian calamari salad looks so enticing that I might just have to try it next time.

